U.S.

Pub punter’s fury as manager ‘more interested in chatting up women’ than serving

A diner has complained online after claiming they experienced one of the “worst dining out experiences” at a Bromsgrove pub. The reviewer alleged that the manager “was more interested in chatting up women and taking pictures of his made up tables” than running the restaurant and bar.

The customer, identified as Shelle, visited The Victoria in Barnt Green earlier this month – and later left their thoughts on Tripadvisor. Shelle also complained that the pub “stinks of smoke as you walk in and out” – due to the location of the smoking area.

Shelle added that the group felt “intimidated” on account of drunk locals and stated that they felt that sort of behaviour was encouraged. The Victoria in Barnt Green has a rating of 4.0 based on over 800 independent reviews on Tripadvisor.

Read more: Restaurant bites back at savage Tripadvisor review and slams ‘non connoisseur’ punter

One reviewer said: “Fabulous food and service! Quaint pub in the village of Barnt Green, worth a visit! The pie is a must try! Will be back soon.”

While an anonymous reviewer added: “The pub has a beautiful interior. Service was excellent. The food was to die for, mushroom starter was amazing and the pork belly scallops were really nice. Overall a great experience from start to finish.”

The same experience was not shared by Shelle who gave the pub one star out of five. Her review’s headline simply read: “One of my worst dining out experiences”.

Their review in full said: “The food was mediocre at best. The meat in the pie was more like chewy soya than beef/steak.

“The general manager was more interested in chatting up women and taking pictures of his made up tables than concentrating on the restaurant and bar.

“It was full of drunk locals, which seemed to be behaviour encouraged and actually made the place quite intimidating for myself and my friends. In addition, smokers stand right outside the door so the place stinks of smoke as you walk in and out.”



The Victoria Barnt Green

A member of staff at The Victoria in Barnt Green, identified as Amy, replied to Shelle’s review and apologised in relation to the food. Bizarrely, the response included a paragraph about the pub’s manager, referring to him as “a very approachable and kind man”.

Amy’s response in full said: “Hello, I am so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience at The Victoria. I apologise if you did not enjoy our food however our team ensures that all guests are provided with a check back, if problems with food are raised they can be dealt with at the time and a new dish can always be provided if necessary.

“Regards to our general manager, he is well known in the village for being a very approachable and kind man. He gets on well with all of our guests and tries his best to converse with them all. He also enjoys being part of our social media platforms and promoting our restaurant and what we have to offer. This is why you may find him and part of our team taking photos of our restaurant during service.

“I can assure that our team are trained to deal with drunken and disorderly guests and will not tolerate inappropriate or intimidating behaviour. Also, we do try our best to encourage guests to smoke down stairs on the patio rather than on the decking.

“However, when busy we cannot always guarantee that this is being monitored. If this was bought to our teams attention we would be more than happy to ensure guests did not smoke by our entrance.”

The Victoria in Barnt Green has a score of 4.0 on Tripadvisor based on 836 reviews at time of writing. One recent reviewer said: “We dined at The Victoria Inn last night. Great food.

“Great atmosphere and Great service. A special mention to our lovely attentive waitress, Freya, who was rushed off her feet and managed to look after us so well ! We will definitely visit again and recommend to friends.”

Another reviewer, identified as Leon, added: “Fantastic atmosphere and fantastic food. 2nd visit here and we’ll definitely be back again.. Sunday lunch at its best.”

READ NEXT:



Most Related Links :
planetnews Governmental News Finance News

Source link

Back to top button